After Aborting Twins, She “Fights Depression and Anger to This Day”

 

“Today is a day I hate myself,” a post-abortive mother revealed when telling her abortion story. Last month, The Atlantic published the online article written by an anonymous mother. The story reveals her intense regret after aborting twins.

The mother begins by describing her difficulties with her prior pregnancies. During the second pregnancy the father urged her to abort, however she refused. In the last trimester the diabetic mother became pre-eclampsic. After her baby boy was born, she began hemorrhaging. She writes that her heart stopped beating for several minutes.

After two frightening pregnancies, the author’s concerned family were against her having other children. However, over a year later she was pregnant again. Her Obgyn warned her that she might not survive if she tried to carry the baby to full term. Despite her concern, the mother told the doctor that she did not want an abortion.

The author described the moment that changed her mind regarding the proposed abortion: “Well I went home that night scared but determined—until my almost 3-year-old-daughter and 1-and-1/2-year-old son climbed into my lap for bedtime stories and my daughter said she loved me and I needed to stay. Where that came from I don’t know, as I had told no one at that time about my doctor visit. I silently cried and hugged my babies and told them momma was going nowhere.”

So she scheduled the appointment and had a medical abortion…

Leave a Reply

